I´m in Moquegua for a few days for a conference and a party. Its all very quiet and peaceful here – the sun shining, the streets decorated for the big fiesta on the 28th. Hard to imagine that just over a month ago thousands of people nearly lynched a priest and a general in the town square less than 2 minutes walk from where I´m sitting now.

Despite the fact I still haven´t resolved what to do about my collapsed PhD, I´m feeling a lot better now than I was a few days ago. Three days holiday in Arequipa did the trick after all. I even did a bit of tourism one afternoon, and took some pictures in the ridiculously beautiful convent of Santa Catalina. Get thee to a nunnery wouldn´t be such a threat if they all looked like this one. Anyway, so I still don´t know what to do to salvage my research, but after contemplating the damage for a few days in the peace and quiet of a sunny, warm city (rather than while living with 15 other people in the freezing cold Altiplano) at least I´m feeling more relaxed about it! That´s progress, surely…

